It is currently 24 Oct 2017, 11:13

All times are UTC

Post subject: Public Representation
PostPosted: 27 Dec 2013, 06:05 

Full disclosure I'm a recent design school graduate and this is something I've been thinking about for years and I still don't really know the answer to.

How do you guys feel about how designers represent themselves and engage the public?

Within designer fashion there seems to be 2 extremes:

1) Complete withdrawal of public presence, abandonment of the system and hype machine, this method creates an alluring mystique and forces a focus on the design work itself, to some extent it creates a blank slate that allows the wearer to project their own feelings and emotions onto the designer

2) Complete engagement of the public, usually through both digital and analogue means and across many mediums, it leaves a lot less to the imagination but at the same time cultivates a personality and presence that the wearer can identify with